02-Oct-2018 - The Nobel Foundation

Nobel Prize for Physics 2018 announced

Appreciation of the research in laser physics

The researchers Arthur Ashkin and Gérard Mourou and Donna Strickland were announced today as this year's winners of the Nobel Prize for Physics. Their achievements in the field of laser physics was groundbreaking and worthy of the Nobel Prize Committee's appreciation.

The discovery of optical tweezers and the application of this tool in biological systems is the field Arthur Ashkin made a great leap forward. This allows to control and manipulate small organisms. Generating ultra-short optical pulses of high intensity is the field Gérard Mourou and Donna Strickland emerged. This has application possibilities in analysis, eye surgery and other fields were short laser pulses are vital.


The very first paper describing the principle for an infrared or optical maser arrived to Physical Review almost exactly 60 years ago and was authored by Arthur L. Schawlow and Charles H. Townes, then at the Bell Telephone Laboratories in New Jersey. It represented an extension of the maser technique to the infrared and optical regions. This paper provided the blueprint for how to construct an optical maser, and it was Theodor H. Maiman who in 1960 was the first to demonstrate coherent stimulated optical emission. The optical maser became known to a broader audience interested in popular science when Schawlow published an article in Scientific American in 1961.

The name “optical maser” was initially used in technical literature, and also in Schawlow’s popular science article. However, “optical maser” had already been replaced by “laser” (light amplification by stimulated emission of radiation) when the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences awarded the 1964 Nobel Prize in Physics to Townes, Nicolay G. Basov and Aleksandr M. Prokhorov “for fundamental work in the field of quantum electronics, which has led to the construction of oscillators and amplifiers based on the laser-maser principle”.

The field of laser physics and its applications grew rapidly after the first discoveries. Laser light has unique properties such as coherence, directionality, monochromaticity and intensity, which are very useful properties both in science and in everyday life. Clearly, in the early years of the laser, the principal driver was the desire to have a device that would generate light waves of the same purity as radio waves. The first lasers were operated in short bursts, but there was a need for continuous operation. The development of continuous-wave, frequency-sharp lasers was a prerequisite for high-resolution laser spectroscopy, which has generated several Nobel Prizes in Physics.

Another important development in laser physics was the production of short pulses of light, thanks in particular to the inventions of laser Q-switching and mode locking, which made it possible to produce a repetitive train of intense, short laser pulses. Together with the development of dye lasers, this set off a new direction towards shorter and shorter optical pulses. The access to short optical pulses, with durations matching the time-scale for atomic motion in molecules, led to new research fields in chemistry, and the possibility to study, in real time, transition states in chemical reactions. These breakthroughs were recognized by the Nobel Prize in Chemistry in 1999 to Ahmed Zewail.

This year’s Nobel Prize in Physics recognizes two inventions in laser physics that have opened new frontiers and generated important applications beneficial to the general public. One of them uses continuous, monochromatic lasers, whereas the other one concerns pulsed lasers.

Facts, background information, dossiers
  • pulsed lasers
  • monochromatic lasers
  • continuous lasers
  • physics
  • light
  • optical tweezers
  • laser spectroscopy
  • coherence
  • light waves
  • optics
More about Nobel Foundation
  • News

    Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine 2020 Announced

    This year’s Nobel Prize is awarded to three scientists who have made a decisive contribution to the fight against blood-borne hepatitis, a major global health problem that causes cirrhosis and liver cancer in people around the world. Harvey J. Alter, Michael Houghton and Charles M. Rice mad ... more

    Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine 2019 Announced

    The Nobel Assembly at Karolinska Institutet has decided to award the 2019 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine jointly to William G. Kaelin Jr., Sir Peter J. Ratcliffe and Gregg L. Semenza for their discoveries of how cells sense and adapt to oxygen availability. Animals need oxygen for th ... more

    Nobel Prize for Chemistry 2018 announced

    The researchers Frances H. Arnold and George P. Smith and Gregory P. Winter were announced as this year's winners of the Nobel Prize for Chemistry. Their achievements in the directed evolution in enzymes and the use of phage-display to produce antibodies was groundbreaking and worthy of the ... more

  • Videos

    Nobel lecture: Yoshinori Ohsumi, Nobel Laureate in Physiology or Medicine 2016

    Autophagy - an Intracellular Recycling Systemby Yoshinori OhsumiTokyo Institute of Technology, Tokyo, JapanYoshinori Ohsumi delivered his Nobel Lecture on 7 December 2016 at Aula Medica, Karolinska Institutet in Stockholm. more

    Nobel Prize Award Ceremony 2016

    The 2016 Nobel Prize Award Ceremony took place at Stockholm Concert Hall at 4:30 PM CET on Saturday, 10 December.Copyright © Nobel Media AB 2016Credits: Sveriges Television AB (production) more

    Announcement of the Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2014

    The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2014 was awarded jointly to Eric Betzig, Stefan W. Hell and William E. Moerner "for the development of super-resolved fluorescence microscopy". more

  • Associations

    The Nobel Foundation

    The Nobel Foundation is a private institution established in 1900 based on the will of Alfred Nobel. The Foundation manages the assets made available through the will for the awarding of the Nobel Prize in Physics, Chemistry, Physiology or Medicine, Literature and Peace. It represents the N ... more

More about Karolinska Institutet