Twenty-one group leaders join network of EMBO Young Investigators

25-Nov-2010 - Germany

The European molecular biology Organization (EMBO) announced the selection of 21 of Europe’s most talented young researchers as 2010 beneficiaries of the EMBO Young Investigator Programme.

Now in its eleventh year, the programme annually identifies some of the most promising European young researchers at a critical stage of their scientific careers. Young group leaders receive a range of benefits designed to smooth the transition during the start up of their first independent research laboratories. EMBO Members – themselves recognised for their excellence in research – select the group leaders to join the programme each year.

The programme received 137 applications this year and successful recipients have established research groups in Belgium, Germany, Israel, Italy, the Netherlands, the United Kingdom, Portugal, Spain and Switzerland.

“EMBO Young Investigators gain financial, academic and practical support,” explains Gerlind Wallon, EMBO Deputy Director and manager of the Young Investigator Programme. “The programme helps to endorse and promote these young scientists as active and recognised contributors to European research.”

Over the course of three years, EMBO Young Investigators will enjoy benefits not always readily available to young group leaders. Lab management and non-scientific skills training as well as PhD courses offer the young group leaders and their students the chance to develop professional skills. Networking events introduce them to recognised leaders in science like EMBO Members and other experts in their fields.

2010 EMBO Young Investigators

Eugene Berezikov, Netherlands

Marc Bühler, Switzerland

Jason Carroll, United Kingdom

Davide Corona, Italy

Oliver Daumke, Germany

André Fischer, Germany

Stephan Grill, Germany

Robert Klose, United Kingdom

David Komander, United Kingdom

Fyodor Kondrashov, Spain

Ben Lehner, Spain

Taija Makine, United Kingdom

Beatriz Rico, Spain

Silvio Rizzoli, Germany

Matthias Selbach, Germany

Bruno Silva-Santos, Portugal

Amos Tanay, Israel

Madalena Tarsounas, United Kingdom

Aurelio Teleman, Germany

Kevin Verstrepen, Belgium

Daniel Wilson, Germany

Other news from the department science

Most read news

More news from our other portals

Is artificial intelligence revolutionizing the life sciences?